Academic positions:

2016 - present        UAM, Condensed Matter Theory Department

                               Associate Professor (with tenure)

2018 - 2019            MIT, Physics Department

                               Visiting Associate Professor / Fulbright Scholar

2010 - 2016            UAM, Condensed Matter Theory Department

                               Assistant Professor / Ramon y Cajal Fellow 

2012                       University of Maryland, Joint Quantum Institute

                               Visiting Assistant Professor

2007 - 2010            MIT, Physics Department

                               Postdoctoral Associate


2006                       PhD in Physics, UAM

                               (Advisors: F.J. García-Vidal and L. Martín-Moreno)

2001                       BS in Physics, UAM

Research grants (as PI or co-PI) and Awards:

2018 - 2019            Fulbright Grant

2016 - 2018            National Research Program Grant, Spanish Ministry of

                               Economics and Competitiveness.

2015                       Banco Santander and Universidad Autónoma de



2013                       MIT TR35-Spain Award  (chosen in 2013 as one of the

                               top 10 Spanish innovators under the age of 35).

2010 - 2015            Ramón y Cajal Grant, Spanish Ministry of Science

                               and Innovation.

Referee for:

Nature, Nature Photonics, Nature Materials, Nature Physics, Nature Communications, ACS Nano, ACS Photonics, Physical Review Letters,  Physical Review B, Physical Review A, Scientific Reports, Applied Physics Letters, Optics Letters, and Optics Express.

Referee for Spanish National Research Agency (Agencia Estatal de Investigación), Spanish Ministry of Science, Innovation and Universities. (2018- ).

Other academic activities:

Member of the Physics Outreach Committee, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (2016- ).

Member of the jury of MIT-Technology Review “Innovators Under 35 awards - Europe” (2017, 2018).

Member of CLEO/Europe Program Committee (for 2019, 2017, and 2015 conference editions).

Organizer of the session “Topological Photonics” in META’16, the 7th International Conference on Metamaterials, Photonic Crystals and Plasmonics (2016).

Co-organizer of the session “Non-linear Metamaterials and Plasmonics” in PIERS 2013, 34th Progress In Electromagnetics Research Symposium. 

Co-organizer of the Seminar Series of the Condensed Matter Theory   Department (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid) (2010-2012).

Co-organizer of the 19th Young Researchers Workshop of the Nicolas Cabrera Institute, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (2016).

Academic coordinator of the 1st course of the Physics degree, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (2016- 2018).

        Home         Research        Publications        CV      Teaching