Scanning Probe Microscopy Theory & Nanomechanics Group
Forces and Transport in Nanostructures



Dr. Delia Fernández Torre and her partner are celebrating the birth of their daughter Clara, who arrived in time for Christmas on 15 December 2013.

New members: Michael Ellner joined the group in September 2013. Carlos received his Master degree with a Special Mention and has started his PhD with us.

On 23 March 2013, Dr. Guilherme Vilhena married Dr. Laura Gomez Martin at the basilica of San Lorenzo el Real at the Royal Seat of San Lorenzo de El Escorial. We wish them the very best!

Our article on a simulaneous AFM and STM study of a surface copper oxide was made the Editor's suggestion at Phys. Rev. B.

New members: Diego Rodríguez Hermoso has joined the group in January 2013.
Delia Fernández-Torre has left our group for a position at the CSIC (Madrid) and remains a collaborator.


New members: Carlos Romero Muñiz has joined the group in November 2012.

Have a look at our recent Science Perspective article on imaging individual chemical bonds by AFM with functionalised tips here.

Prof. Perez is on sabatical leave at the Salmeron group, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory during 2012.

Dr. Carlos Gomez Castro has completed his doctorate.

New members: Dr. Guilherme Vilhena has joined the group in January 2012.


Spanish daily 'El Mundo' published an interview with Prof. Perez on the role of scanning probe tools in nanotechnology.

Lucia Rodrigo gained her Masters Degree. She is currently studying for a doctoral qualification.

Dr. Giulio Biddau has completed his doctorate and moved to the group of Prof. Claudia Ambrosch-Draxl at the Humboldt University, Berlin.

Have a look at our recent review describing the emergence of the atomic force microscope as a tool capable of creating nanostructures at room temperature, one atom at a time. (free to download from the Nature Nanotechnology web page http://www.nature.com/nnano/index.html


Our japanese collaborators from Osaka University and NIMS have received the Feynman Prize for experimental work:


2009 MRS Fall Meeting , Symposium OO: "Dynamic Scanning Probes: Imaging, Characterization, and Manipulation"

New members: Dr. Delia Fernandez, Carlos Gomez, Lucia Rodrigo and Dr. Milica Todorovic have recently joined the group.